24 Hours And Counting

Wahoooooo! 24 hours from now we will be making our way out to the Peralta Trail Head to begin our very first overnight trip. I am beyond excited! So excited in fact that it is actually about 32 hours before our trip and I am writing this now so it will be ready to publish when we are at the 24 mark. 🙂

We will start by heading around Miners Needle (thank you OldSlowHans)and make our way up to Charlebois Spring. From there we hope we are still energetic enough to press on and setup camp a mile or two past White Rock Spring.

Some foil and duct tape can make just about anything

We are bringing Melman (our Great Dane) along to join us in our first adventure, I love hiking with him and he is an excellent campin dog, so I am looking forward to that. I made him a bed roll and a new food/water dish today so he is ready to go. He gets to carry his own stuff weighing in at 12 pounds, where as Fall Gal and myself will be up in the 35~37 pound range (with food and water).

I must admit I have become somewhat OCD for this trip. I mean really, how many times can you go through the check list to be sure you have everything? No matter how many times I look my headlamp is still there, right where I put it. I know it is there, my packing list has it checked off, nobody but me has touched the pack…..ah hold on, let me go make sure it is still there….ok its there, but did I put my socks in there?

I cant say that I am nervous, I think Fall Gal and myself are prepared mentally and physically, or at least as prepared as one can be. Excited is definitely the word, for about 3 months now I have pretty much become backpacking. It consumes me, I find myself waking up with thoughts of the next trip (and we have not even done one yet), gear, food, etc. and it goes all day. I have heard others say that backpacking is not something your “kinda into”, backpacking becomes a part of you. Even though I have not spent a single night in my tent (except for that one night in my living room….what?!?! you have to test your gear before you use it!) I feel as if backpacking has already become a part of my life.

If you have any last minute advise speak up now, or its kinda useless LOL!

12 thoughts on “24 Hours And Counting

  1. You can never be too prepared. Once you are down the trail there is no quick trip back to the truck or town to get something you forgot. Sounds like you guys are set and all you need to do now is enjoy it. Good luck on the hike and have fun.

  2. Tip: for ease of access, I carry my TP/trowel/wet wipes(all in a ziplock) and headlamp/flashlight in the top flap of my pack. You’ve probably already thought of this but wanted to mention it. Those are some very important papers!! Ha.
    Enjoy your trip.

    • Great Advise! We are in full training mode for Yosemite, so even though we will not be in bear country we are packing everything in the bear vault. During the day we will have the necessary “paper work” in an easily accessible area!

      Thanks for stopping by and sharing your thoughts.

  3. Do me a favor guys.

    On Dutchman trail (104) sometime after you pass the junction with Bluff Springs there is (rumor has it) a huge GIE-MONGOUS cactus with nearly 90 arms. If you spot it, could you let me know how far (I’ve heard maybe 1.5 miles) beyond that junction it is?

    Thanks, and have a great weekend.

    • We found it, I think! There is one, I am guessing about 2-2.5 miles in, it is big and has a lot of arms, but not 90. However, there is a HUGE one wayyyyy back in there, maybe 7 miles or so. We took pics for you, and they should be tagged with GPS so we will know exactly where they are. Will post soon, but for now even typing hurts LOL

  4. To quote from you: “24 hours from now we will be making our way out to the Peralta Trail Head to begin our very first overnight trip. I am beyond excited! So excited in fact that it is actually about 32 hours before our trip and I am writing this now so it will be ready to publish when we are at the 24 mark.”

    …..I do this ALL the time! Haha!

Leave a Reply

