My “prep” for our first overnight!

Excitement is building with Slimms. The steaks are marinated and frozen. The dehydrators are full and drying fruit; kiwis, pineapples, strawberries, pears…YUMMY! Got granola and nuts for trail mix. Think some chocolate is in order in the form of M&M’s. Little toiletries were purchased today as well. I did my part right there ๐Ÿ™‚

I’d like to imagine that my bag is packed…hmmmm…I will need to step out of my daydream and actually do that. Slimms has been nice enough and more than eager to help practice pack though. Just the water and sleeping bag is heavy enough already. Gonna be in for a shock I think when it’s fully loaded and this is only a one nighter…but a huge distance hike. I think I am mentally prepared but not quite sure about the physical part yet. Been slacking on my exercise. I also have to drive 4 hours the night before and 4 hours the night we get back. Waaaa…poor me! Moving on…

Mental list here we go…My pretty salsa red Osprey Ariel 65 pack, check! Kelty Cosmic Down +20 sleeping bag and Therm-a-rest RidgeRest SOlite sleeping mat thingy, check! ย Water and bladder, check! Purple (meh) Nalgene bottle, check! Black Diamond Trail Shock trekking poles (grrrrr…I do not like those though), check! Multi-tool and knife, check! BO stopper (deodorant cuz BO is not fun), toothpaste, and toothbrush (top secret secret), check!! GoGirl (yup, field test time), ย check! Food, check! Other stuff I am not sure of yet, check!! Whatever Slimms is mental listing, check! Check check!! Am I missing something?????

I will do a review on the pack after this trip is done. I am the only one in the group with it, so we shall see how it goes. Most of the other stuff is all the same among the group…few different odds and ends. I will also probably do an update on the shoes because I will be carrying a load with them for the first time. I’m not as prepared as I should be I’m sure but this is a learning experience…can’t be perfect just yet.

I’m excited ๐Ÿ™‚ Pack on, let’s go!!ย 

8 thoughts on “My “prep” for our first overnight!

    • Thanks bunches! I plan to play with the pack quite a bit on the trip to test things out. Should have my review up by Tuesday of next week. Thanks for stopping in…hope to see you back then ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thanks Eric! Gonna try to have fun ๐Ÿ™‚ We are going to do a 16 mile loop through the Superstition Mountains here in Arizona.

    • Thanks ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m not quite sure I am ready but very excited! Can’t wait to share the experience with everyone!!!

Leave a Reply

