Imma GoGirl

FYI..if you are a bit of a prude and do not like to discuss bodily functions…while I kept it pretty mellow, this post might not be for you. If you don’t care, then please carry on reading πŸ™‚

While I like to hike, camp, and spend a lot of time outdoors…I am not as rough and tumble as I would like to think I am. While I am no where near a girly girl (no make-up and heels for this chick), I do have my girly moments. My nemesis while camping is having no bathroom. I admit, I do not like to squat in the woods or behind a bush or cactus to do my business…I really don’t think anyone would but I hate it. I find it rather annoying and awkward. This has been something I have been able to manage on our hiking trips…I just don’t go. While camping, we have a toilet and tent πŸ™‚Β 

So…upon learning of the “reality” (as I should call it now cuz it’s every minute of everyday lately) that I was gonna be a part of this wonderful adventure in backpacking, I became a bit panicked. FIVE DAYS…NO TOILET…UGH!! I can deal with sleeping on the ground. I can handle the weather. I can manage the exhaustion and fatigue. But no toilet….sad face 😦 What am I going to do? The poop factor is bad enough but I doubt I will need go number 2 and much as I will number 1 just for the fact hydration is going to be key to surviving the amount of activity we will be enduring. Having to drop and squat all the time, not my idea of adventuresome fun.Β 

LIGHT BULB MOMENT!!!Β 

I remember as a child watching travel shows on the television with my mother. I distinctly remember one in which a woman had this “device” she used to stand up while peeing. Kept her from having to sit on all those public toilets or even squat over them. GENIUS! I always envied the males of our species for being able to just whip it out and go. While she wasn’t whipping anything out and going, she was able to use the restroom and not sit on gross, nastiness. So I decided to search the web for information.

Female urination devices was my search criteria. LOL. Kinda funny actually to sit and think about it. With one of these, I won’t have to sit to pee though πŸ˜‰ The pickings aren’t tremendous, but there is a variety to choose from. There are quite a few women who use them, which I found interesting since I broached the subject with the other women in our group and most seemed less than interested. Wicked Witch thinks it’s “disgusting” and since she is professional squatter, will deal with things just fine. Β Chuck Norris thinks it’s a great thing though. πŸ™‚

Backpacker Magazine did an article in May of 2010 about the subject. The article gives you an idea of what is out there, so I won’t go into details about them all. I haven’t tried but one option anyways. The first one they discuss is a plain old automotive funnel. Haha…very obvious but rather funny to think about. Serves it’s purpose cheaply but I was looking for something less obvious and more compact. Something specifically designed for what I was wanting it for. And after researching the options out there, I decided to try the Go-Girl.Β 

I have used the Go-Girl twice. It’s not too big and not too small. It’s made of soft, pliable material and folds compactly into the packing tube quite nicely. Weighs, with packaging, around 2 ounces I believe. I will check out and update. They recommend practicing with it before using it out and about so I have. It is a bit intimidating and “unnatural” to first use. My first practice run was in the shower…YES…some will think that is gross but the alternative to me, was far worse. I didn’t want a mess all over myself and my bathroom that I would have to clean up anyways…and then shower after. I was able to finagle the device in the right way and in the correct position…and lo and behold…it worked. My second try was to use the toilet. Eeeeeeeeek. My thoughts were I am going to make a huge mess even if the first time went smoothly. I got everything ready…counted to 10 because nothing was happening…lol…and just peed!!! LOL LOL!! I am laughing as I write this. πŸ™‚ Β It was the weirdest thing ever, but it worked. No mess, no drips, and amazingly I didn’t have to use any toilet paper at all. Awesome if you ask me. The Go-Girl is easy to clean…just rinse. Can wash with soap if you want as well. I will disinfect it after I am done using it on any extended trip though.Β 

I have yet to use it out on the trail as we only do day hikes right now and like I said, I’ve adapted to not going quite well. I will most definitely be taking it out on our overnights though…test out my new found “skill”. I’m sure this post was less than wonderful to read but to any girls out there, it’s an option to think about. Β 

8 thoughts on “Imma GoGirl

  1. That was amusing to read. The trials and tribulations of the trail from the female perspective, heheh. As a guy I’m lucky and am able to avoid squatting. . . at least half the time. . . I’m going to mention this to my wife and get her reaction and input. And when I’m out on the trail and see a woman hike by with a plastic automotive funnel strapped to her pack I’ll know why. LOL.

    • “”And when I’m out on the trail and see a woman hike by with a plastic automotive funnel strapped to her pack I’ll know why””

      LMAO

  2. Thanks for the reply Jack! Please do share with your wife and let me know what she thinks πŸ™‚ You men do have it a bit easier than us…be glad πŸ™‚

  3. A very interesting and informative post. To be honest, I never really thought about the bathroom doings of hiking but I also have never attempted an extended hike like you guys have planned. I also think field testing the device in the shower was a better idea than just standing next to the toilet. I’m glad that this dilemma is one less thing I have to worry about. Good luck.

    • Thanks πŸ™‚ I tend to fret over this issue quite a bit. It kept me from enjoying tent camping a lot.. Hopefully this will do the trick πŸ˜‰ I’m ready to enjoy this trip πŸ™‚

  4. That’s awesome! My boyfriend wants to try backpacking and the potty issue is definitely important to me. I’m glad someone else tried this first!

    • I will be doing my first field test on the Go Girl this weekend! Will let you know how it goes out on the trail πŸ™‚ I’m excited and nervous to be honest. Check back for the results and hopefully some positive news. πŸ™‚ thanks so much for reading πŸ˜‰

  5. Pingback: I “GoGirl”ed, and I liked it! | The Backpacking Journal

Leave a Reply

